Thread: H&A New cop in town

H&A New cop in town

Everyone in Summer Bay is pretty friendly and laid back, everyone except Charlie! She's new to The Bay but isn't afraid to speak her mind, which comes as quite a shock to some of the residents.

Esther admits that Charlie doesn't come onto the scene as a Summer Bay favourite, but is a woman who is very driven and ambitious. Not far off from Esther herself. Charlie is Ross Buckton's daughter and Jack Holden's new partner at the Station. We asked Esther about her character and her first role acting on television.

How did you get into acting?

I got into acting through modelling actually. I’ve been modelling for ten years and then started doing television commercials, and I loved it! It’s a little more challenging from still photography, but, yeah I want to have a go at this so I moved back from Japan where I’d spent six years modelling. I moved back to pursue acting and took some short courses in Melbourne at various acting studios.

Tell us about when you first heard the news!
    Well, I auditioned on a Friday and found out on a Monday, but I was away on a prolonged weekend. I had no reception all Monday, and I kind of had an idea from in the audition that I’d find out really soon, so all of Monday I just wanted to get back. So then I got reception for a little bit and called my agent, but the signal died before he could tell me. Finally when I got home, I got on the house phone and called. I was getting changed and I was half naked I was crying, laughing. It was very very exciting, quite a bit of shock! This is my first big break!

What was your first day here like?
    My heart was just going so fast and it still is! I was quite nervous, everyone says that’s not quite a bad thing; it keeps you on you toes. My first scene was with Cornelia, who plays Morag; she was great. It was pretty cool, and there was so much to think about! We did an action scene and we had stunt double and everything, so it was good!