PDA

View Full Version : Blood Pressure

Abi
24-10-2006, 13:11
I've been feeling really dizzy, and light headed recently, and have been fainting a lot, so i took one of those blood pressure test things, today.

Anyway, my reading was 84/53, and i'm not really sure if thats good or bad... Google isn't really helping me much, because i dont understand much about the test or the measurements or anything.

So does anyone know much about it, and if 84/53 is good for me, or something i should be worried about?

Thanks! :D

1sheldie
24-10-2006, 13:42
Hi I'm not a doctor or a nurse but if your light headed and fainting for no reason i'd get myself to the doctors just for a check up if you don't want a doctor the practice nurses will help as well,,

I might be wrong but i think that your blood pressure could be a bit low.

Luna
24-10-2006, 13:43
my blood pressure at the last check was 130/70 which is low

this is how they work it out -

Normal ranges for blood pressure in adult humans are:

Systolic between 90 and 135 mmHg (90–135 Torr, 12–18 kPa)
Diastolic between 50 and 90 mmHg (50–90 Torr, 7–12 kPa)

Systole is the contraction of the chambers of the heart, driving blood out of the chambers. The chamber most often discussed is the left ventricle. However, all four chambers of the heart undergo systole and diastole in a timed fashion so that blood is propelled forward through the cardiovascular system.

Diastole is the period of time when the heart relaxes after contraction. Ventricular diastole is when the ventricles are relaxing, while atrial diastole is when the atria are relaxing.

During ventricular diastole, the pressure in the (left and right) ventricles drops from the peak that it reaches in systole. When the pressure in the left ventricle drops to below the pressure in the left atrium, the mitral valve opens, and the left ventricle fills with blood that was accumulating in the left atrium.