PDA

View Full Version : Jamie Oliver School Meal Thoughts

adorableangel
16-10-2006, 22:18
calling all pupils, parents and teachers!

i am a student researching school dinners and the effect jamie olivers 'feed me better' campagne has had on different schools and children.
i would like to know everybodies view,opinions and thoughts.

what do children eat at schools these days? is it healthy? has jamie olivers campaigne been successful

Londoner
17-10-2006, 09:36
Yes i think Jamie Oliver has done an excellent job at getting the schools to feed children more healthy food, my daughter attends a Greenwich School where the scheme was first introduced and met Jamie and the other cooks and sang that song!!:D

My daughter then went on to raise money for a healthy tuck shop, which is still running.

I also feel that as a parent this has encourged me to give my child healthier food, which i now do! I also think it encourges the children to think more healthy about what they eat.

At my daughters school which is the same as all schools in the Greenwich Borough they only serve healthy school meals, they are not allowed to give them junk food anymore!

I hope this helps
:cheer:

adorableangel
17-10-2006, 21:39
thats brilliant thankyou for your view, im sure this will help me with my project!

Tori
18-10-2006, 14:58
Okay, at my secondary school it helped no end. when i first went 5 years ago there was nothing but chips and burgers (one of our cafés was designed in a mcdonalds style) but when i left there wasn't a chip or burger in sight it was all pasta, baked potatoes etc and there weren't any fizzy drinks either. whenever i had a dinner i enjoyed it. So I think that it's had a positive impact and although Jamie Olivers campaign wasn't around 5 years ago, since Jamie Oliver brought it into the headlines it improved no end and i just wish that all this applied to colleges!

crazygirl
18-10-2006, 15:13